Deleted records continue to take up space on the hard drive of the computer. To keep the database from growing too large, permanent delete will remove all traces of the records from the system, removing the record from the restore function. Permanently deleted records will NOT be able to be recovered except by restoring a backup from an earlier date. It is important to delete only those records that have been archived in another manner or are beyond the required recordkeeping date. This process is automatic on NACCRRAware.net and will happen after a record has been deleted for 90 days. For local installations, a user with Create, Modify, Reports and Delete or Total Administrative access will need to utilize this function to permanently delete the records. NACCRRAware.net users with proper security level may also permanently delete records at any time by utilizing this function.
WARNING: On the NACCRRAware.net system, records will be permanently deleted 90 days after the delete date. Users have 90 days to restore a record if deleted in error.
Please use the following directions to utilize the Permanent Delete function. Only users with Create, Modify, Reports and Delete or Total Administration access may access this function.
- On the Main Menu, choose Utilities.
- Choose Perm. Delete.
- Select the type of data to be deleted, Client, Provider or Community records.
- Choose the number of records per page to be displayed. The options range from 50 to 500. This determines the number of records that will be displayed on each page if there are more than 50 records which meet the criteria.
- Click Search.
- The listing screen will appear as below:
- To show all options, click Show All Pages in the upper left corner. To move through the list page by page, click the page number in the upper right corner. The arrows on the left and right move to the previous or next set of 5 pages.
- To sort options by ID, First Name, Last Name, Business Name (providers only), City, Phone, or Delete Date, click the Up (ascending) or Down (descending) arrow in the appropriate category. The red arrow indicates the current sort option.
- To mark a record for permanent deletion, place a check mark in the Delete box on the right.
- As records are marked, the number of Records Selected on the top right will increase.
- When changing pages, the Records Selected number will show the previous page number until all records on the page have loaded.
- At the bottom of the page, Remove Checks, Check All and Delete buttons are available.
- Remove Checks removes all checks on the current page.
- Check All places checks on all records on the current page.
- Delete will permanently delete ALL marked records on all pages.
- To permanently delete records, mark all appropriate records and click Delete.
- A warning message will appear stating: "Warning you are about to delete records permanently."
- Click OK.
- A warning message will appear asking: "Are you sure you want to delete the selected records (X) records?" The X represents the number of records marked.
- Click Yes to continue, Cancel to stop the Permanent Delete operation.
- Yes will produce a page indicating the records have been permanently delete and a note that this action cannot be undone.
- Click to return to Permanent Delete or another menu item.
- The records are now permanently delete and will not be accessible through any functions in NACCRRAware.